On Being a Woman – Motherhood, Part 1

This blog site has now been updated and moved to a new internet address. To see this post in its new site, please go to:

On Being a Woman – Motherhood, Part 1

 

About javsimson

Scientist, traveler, woman, writer, spiritual explorer, mother, grandmother, fascinated with the world, appalled by deliberate human ignorance. Website and blogs include: http://javsimson.com/ http://solowomenathomeandabroad.blogspot.com/
This entry was posted in Being a Woman, Motherhood, working mother and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Being a Woman – Motherhood, Part 1

  1. Mind Margins says:

    I remember when my daughter was born, how I almost immediately began worrying about her safety, and being amazed at how quickly and intensely the feelings of caring and loving came naturally. The need to protect her was so innate, and I knew I would never be able to not worry about keeping her safe for the rest of my life.

    Even though both my children are grown now, I still feel the urge to protect them and care for them, even while acknowledging that they’re on their own. It is indeed a “terrifying responsibility.”

  2. Love this. Becoming a mother was kind of a given for me, even though I was an educated woman with a profitable career, in the few years after I got married it just felt like something I needed to do. I only half-jokingly called it The Biological Imperative. I still can’t think of any rational reason for having children, though of course I am endlessly grateful for the ones I have. I was never afraid to be alone with my kids, maybe because I come from a big family and always had babies around me. But now, six years into motherhood and watching my kids become so much more independent, I can feel that emptiness approaching. Maybe THAT’s why I went to grad school 🙂

Leave a Reply

