On Being a Woman – Options, Part 3

This blog site has now been updated and moved to a new internet address. To see this post in its new site, please go to:

On Being a Woman – Options, Part 3

 

About javsimson

Scientist, traveler, woman, writer, spiritual explorer, mother, grandmother, fascinated with the world, appalled by deliberate human ignorance. Website and blogs include: http://javsimson.com/ http://solowomenathomeandabroad.blogspot.com/
This entry was posted in Being a Woman, Uncategorized, working mother and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to On Being a Woman – Options, Part 3

  1. I think I work harder as a stay at home mom than I ever did as a working mother. Now that the kids are older, there’s even more running around involved than when I was ferrying them back and forth to a sitter so I could work. I really think that, as women, we need to rally around each other more. Lift a sister up, so to speak. Great series!

    • Thanks, Miranda! Yes, indeed, we sisters need to hang together! And recognise that almost all of us work very hard, and much of that work is poorly paid and/or often not accorded the value it’s due. Women paarticularly hold the future of the world in their hands when they care for their children.

  2. Gloria Blanche Wood says:

    I have very much enjoyed your story. You have done an outstanding job of telling your story and I thank you for sharing it. And I must say that my story is like yours in many ways. I look back over the years of my life and see that it might be worthwhile to write about it all someday. You have set for me an example of how it might be done!!!!

  3. Thank God you were finally promoted to Associate Professor. I had intended to pursue a Ph.D. after I completed an MA in English lit, but I never got around to it. I have gone back in recent years to teach writing as an adjunct. However, I stopped when my partner’s job moved us overseas. It’s interesting to think about how some of these issues work themselves out in lesbian partnerships, as well. Though I can’t begin to comment on that here, it’s an issue worth writing about. I need to give it some more thought. Great series!
    Hugs,
    Katy

  4. Pingback: On Being a Woman – Options, Part 2 | joannevalentinesimson

Leave a Reply

