The Next Big Thing – Women Bloggers

This blog post will be a departure from the usual recent rants about women and culture. Rather, I’ve agreed to participate in a blog hop (“The Next Big Thing”), during which I’ll introduce you to some terrific women who are out there in the blogosphere.

I was recruited by Julie Frayn, who blogs at:  http://juliebird.ca/

Her facebook page is:  https://www.facebook.com/Woodglob/posts/566390143375159?comment_id=7147059#!/JulesFrayn?fref=ts

Not only is Julie witty and wise, but she also has a keen eye and ear for writing, including the grammatical foibles of American vernacular.

What I’m supposed to do is to tell something about myself and my writing by answering ten questions. Then I’ll introduce you to a few other great bloggers I‘ve been following.

1. What is the working title of your next book?

Korea, Are You at Peace: A Traveler’s History of a Divided Country

2. Where did the idea for this book come from?

After I returned to the U.S. from a two-year stay in Korea, I felt compelled to write up the adventures and insights of that experience.

3. What is the genre of your book?

This is a nonfiction travel narrative.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I don’t think my book would work well in movie rendition. 😉

5. What is a one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A mature Western woman spends two years in South Korea and compares her experiences with those of Isabella Bird Bishop, a Victorian travel writer, as a way of exploring the dark century of that erstwhile Hermit Kingdom and its emergence into a brighter contemporary world, although still occupied by American military and under the cloud of North Korea’s irrational leadership.

6. Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?

I hope to publish through a mainstream publisher. I do not have an agent at this time.

A previous book was self-published (CreateSpace), also a nonfiction book on religious philosophy, available on Amazon at: http://www.amazon.com/God-that-Says-Scientists-Meditations/dp/1450549047/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1286802360&sr=1-2

That book is biomedical scientist’s existential exploration of the nature of spiritual experience and examines the function of religion in human culture. I have recently begun a blog on this theme at:  http://spiritandscience.net/

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

The first draft took about a year to write. It has been undergoing revision for the past four or five years.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

The closest I can come is Korea: A Walk Through the Land of Miracles, by Simon Winchester. He uses the itinerary of seamen captured after the seventeenth wreckage of a Dutch ship to plot his contemporary walking tour through South Korea.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I was inspired by the Korean people and the Korean countryside. I was also inspired by Isabella Bird Bishop, a brave British woman, the first to explore the Korean backcountry. She narrated her travels in the book: Korea and Her Neighbors.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Readers will like the photos illustrating all chapters, the chapter on the DMV, chapters on Korean women and Korean religions, as well as an appendix on Korean history.

Now, I would like to nominate a few other women bloggers who inspire me to continue writing.

The Single Cell: http://thesinglecell.wordpress.com/  who writes beautifully, as well as humorously and insightfully.

Tori, who blogs at The Ramblings, at http://torinelson.wordpress.com/ and writes vividly, with humor, and with a deep soft spot.

Lisa, who blogs at Woman Wielding Words, at http://lisawieldswords.wordpress.com/  and is deeply introspective, honestly sharing her doubts and concerns.

Desi, who blogs at: http://thevalentine4.com/ and is a spellbinding writer.

About javsimson

Scientist, traveler, woman, writer, spiritual explorer, mother, grandmother, fascinated with the world, appalled by deliberate human ignorance. Website and blogs include: http://javsimson.com/ http://solowomenathomeandabroad.blogspot.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Next Big Thing – Women Bloggers

  1. Clanmother says:

    What a great idea! Excellent post!!!

  2. Thank you for reading and responding!

  3. Good luck with your book, sounds like a wonderful story and love the reference to another who walked a similar path before you.

  4. Joanne,

    Somehow I completely missed this post. Well, I know how I missed it, (between holidays and mourning my head hasn’t exactly been in blogging space). Thank you so much for nominating me. I’ve actually done this recently with my manuscript http://lisawieldswords.wordpress.com/2012/11/03/who-is-the-next-best-thing/
    but I really appreciate your kind words.

    I also think your book sounds fascinating. I really need to learn more about Korea, especially since my daughter is Japanese/Korean/Eastern European Jew.

Leave a Reply

