Mother to Daughter: A Questional Legacy – Part 4

This post can now be found on my new website at this URL:

Mother to Daughter: A Questional Legacy – Part 4


About joannevalentinesimson

Scientist, traveler, woman, writer, spiritual explorer, mother, grandmother, fascinated with the world, appalled by deliberate human ignorance. Website and blogs include:
This entry was posted in Being a Woman and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mother to Daughter: A Questional Legacy – Part 4

  1. Pingback: Mother to Daughter: A Questionable Legacy – Part 3 | joannevalentinesimson

  2. nrhatch says:

    Enjoyed this series quite a bit. I always felt I had a choice to be what I wanted to be . . . and never considered acquiring self-esteem as other than an individual endeavor.

  3. Clanmother says:

    An insightful post – thank you!!!

    “For we think back through our mothers if we are women.” Virginia Woolf

  4. Good post, Jo Anne! As a biologist, you can appreciate my frustration when I did some grad work in biology at the U. of Illinois in the Seventies. When a couple of my projects suggested that there might be an element of “female choice” both in Drosophila mating and in redwing courtship, the male biologists simply laughed at me. I believe there has been some support for that idea in recent years. Luckily, I built my career on biology education rather than on biology itself!

  5. Kathy says:

    The hardest question to answer is: How can a daughter examine the legacy she has received from her mother in a wise but critical way and question those aspects that diminish her sense of self-worth? JoAnne, isn’t that the truth? It’s been a challenge for me to do that over the years.

Leave a Reply

