Quiet spring meditation in the woods

This reminded me so much of my childhood in Michigan, I just wanted to reblog it on my site. Thanks, LSS.

Lake Superior Spirit

017

It sometimes takes a long time–a truly long time–maybe even years, or decades, or a lifetime–for one to learn how to truly become quiet in the woods.

So quiet, so still, that there is no difference between you and the landscape, between you and nature.

Until you realize fully that you are nature itself in your stillness, in your activity, in your very essence.

View original post 682 more words

About javsimson

Scientist, traveler, woman, writer, spiritual explorer, mother, grandmother, fascinated with the world, appalled by deliberate human ignorance. Website and blogs include: http://javsimson.com/ http://solowomenathomeandabroad.blogspot.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quiet spring meditation in the woods

  1. Kathy says:

    I am glad this brought back good memories for you.

  2. afscathie says:

    Thanks so much for sharing. Beautiful photos and beautiful poetic descriptions. I live a mini experience like this every day. There’s a wooded area between my apartment on the lake and the main road. I walk there with my dog every day. We see woodpeckers regularly, and PT loves to nose around in the woods pausing frequently to investigate some strong scent or other. I think there are many creatures visiting the woods during the night. Further down the road, I’ve seen a group of deer early in the morning. An eagle was perched on a limb outside my screened porch eyeing a brace of ducks near the shore on morning. During the summer months, an old bullfrog sings me to sleep every night. I feel so blessed to be in this place and I share the writer’s feelings that you feel at one with the universe in nature.

    Cathie

    Still hoping you’ll be able to come for a visit.

    • Glad you enjoyed the post by a fellow Michigander.
      As for coming to upstate New York–possibly in mid-August. I plan to be in NYC for a couple of days then. We’ll see how my lungs hold up during a few days of travel I’ll be doing this month. If O.K., maybe I can do it.

Leave a Reply

