On Being a Woman – Valued, Part 1

This blog site has now been updated and moved to a new internet address. To see this post in its new site, please go to:

http://javsimson.com/2012/11/being-valued-part-1/

 

About javsimson

Scientist, traveler, woman, writer, spiritual explorer, mother, grandmother, fascinated with the world, appalled by deliberate human ignorance. Website and blogs include: http://javsimson.com/ http://solowomenathomeandabroad.blogspot.com/
This entry was posted in Being a Woman and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On Being a Woman – Valued, Part 1

  1. Julie Frayn says:

    I discovered in the eighties that a male colleague whose responsibilities and job role were “below” mine was making more than I was. I confronted the bosses (male) and was told he has a family to support, and I am married so my husband is supporting me. Say what?? I now work at a not-for-profit that has an eleven member senior management team, seven of which are women. Nice paradigm shift for me.

    Recently my daughter’s boyfriend told me he didn’t want to read my work. Why? I figured if he didn’t like it he’d rather not critique his potential future mother in law. Nope. He doesn’t like women authors. Wow. Even the twenty somethings hold onto gender prejudices. Terribly sad.

    • WOW is right! And it is terribly sad. His mom didn’t raise him right. (Watch out for your daughter.) These men need some education in how the other half thinks! A few of them ARE listening, though, and not just the young ones.
      My daughter also quit her job when she found out that she was also being paid less than a man with less experience. She was pregnant at the time and took maternity leave and simply didn’t go back. She is now a stay-at-home mom, a luxury that fewer and fewer women can afford today.
      A part of me wishes I had been able to stay at home with my children when they were babies, and then go back to work when they started school. But that wasn’t possible in my field (biomedical science). Don’t know if that has changed, yet although I doubt it. I also worked very hard to try to get on-site child care, but the old guys in charge wouldn’t hear of it.
      I loved the film “Nine to Five” Only when women are the bosses will things change. I’m afraid guys are scared to death of that.

  2. Joanne…good stuff – which I just shared on Twitter!

  3. Pingback: On Being a Woman – Valued, Part 2 | joannevalentinesimson

Leave a comment