On Being a Woman – Options, Part 2

This blog site has now been updated and moved to a new internet address. To see this post in its new site, please go to:

On Being a Woman – Options, Part 2

 

About javsimson

Scientist, traveler, woman, writer, spiritual explorer, mother, grandmother, fascinated with the world, appalled by deliberate human ignorance. Website and blogs include: http://javsimson.com/ http://solowomenathomeandabroad.blogspot.com/
This entry was posted in Being a Woman, Uncategorized, working mother and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to On Being a Woman – Options, Part 2

  1. These posts are fascinating. And very well written (do you do fiction? Would love to have you join my facebook writing workshop community) That metaphor of the winter tree is stunning; perfectly apt and well written. I’m struck by a lot of this, as my mother was married to my dad the professor, and she used to host these big dinner parties for all his colleagues. SHe used to mix him a drink before dinner and he’d read his newspaper in his comfy chair while she cooked. THey stayed married, not an easy one, but she was an artists and kept at it seriously in her basement studio, showing at galleries etc. Anyway, I do enjoy your writing. My FB group is:
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/Sandraswritingworkshop/

  2. Thanks, Sandra! Yes, I do fiction (or have done). I have a fiction blog at: http://vpascoefiction.blogspot.com/
    Currently, I’m writing mostly non-fiction, but I do have a novel in the works. I checked out your FB group, and have requested admission.

  3. Gerry Wilson says:

    Joanne, I have a feeling we must be about the same age. I too grew up with a kind of fairy tale vision of marriage as the ultimate goal for a woman (especially marrying “well”), although my parents did encourage me to get a degree and prepare myself to “do something,” just in case something happened to my husband and I had to work! I appreciate your honesty in these pieces, and I can certainly relate to the journey.

    • Gerry, maybe so. I was in high-school and college in the mid-to-late 1950s, got married in the early ’60s, then went back to graduate school in the mid-’60s, entering a department (Anatomy) where I was the only female student. I did well academically, but it was a struggle to be accepted by my fellow students. After a couple of years, at a departmental party, a typsy fellow student came up, looked me close in the face, and said, “We all used to hate you because you were a girl, but now we think you’re O.K.” That is the iconic story of my socialization as a female scientist – initial aversion and eventual grudging acceptance – which was played out in similar ways in subsequent professional scenarios. Now there are more female scientists, not all of whom are viewed as “bitches,” so I suspect it’s easier for women these days.

      • Gerry Wilson says:

        I’m sure you’re right about it being easier for women these days. You are a trailblazer! Good for you. We should swap more stories sometime. (We definitely are of the same era!)

  4. Pingback: On Being a Woman – Options, Part 3 | joannevalentinesimson

  5. Pingback: On Being a Woman – Options | joannevalentinesimson

Leave a Reply

